//
you're reading...
Opinions

An Overlooked Fact in the Travon Martin Case!!

Trayvon Martin - Million Hoodies March 2012 020

Trayvon Martin - Million Hoodies March 2012 020 (Photo credit: calvinfleming)

For the last week, I have not been able to escape the media coverage of the Travon Martin case. Every news source has cast their opinion and generally told its viewers not only what happened, but how they should respond to it. Civil rights leaders have been coming out of the woodwork to state their opinions about what should be done and radical groups have demanded vigilante justice and put a price on the head of George Zimmerman. Even the President has chimed in with his opinion, which was immediately politicized by both parties. This whole case has become a story of smoke and mirrors. Each day, some new bit of information is leaked to the press which is then presented in a way to stir up more controversy.

I have a problem with all of this national media attention being given to a story that is truly a local issue in my opinion. Now I know there are those that will say that this is a story that the country wants to know about, but I will argue differently. The only reason this is now a national story is because the media has presented it that way.

If we take a moment, step back and look at the facts of this story for what they are, most reasonable people will see that what happened is not at all unusual. The facts are simple: 1) Travon Martin is dead, 2) He (Martin) was shot by George Zimmerman, and  3) George Zimmerman claimed self defense and the police seemed to agree with him because he has neither been arrested nor charged with a crime.

These three events are not at all uncommon. You can replace the names of the parties involved, insert any race and this same event takes place at the very least once per week somewhere in the United States. We hear about it, but it neither captures our interest like this story has nor does it garner such media attention.

The real story is not Travon Martin and George Zimmerman, the real story is the people around this event and how they are clamoring for attention which the media so happily provides. We watch while Al Sharpton demands justice for the victim and the arrest of Zimmerman. We listen while Jesse Jackson proclaims “Black people are under attack” and “killing black people has become big business”. (This one I disagree with on so many levels, I don’t want to get into it right now) We’ve listened to leaders of the NAACP as they condemn the actions of the two previously mentioned above and we’ve been told how The New Black Panther Party has put a bounty on George Zimmerman’s head. All of this has been fed to us as we listen to news commentators share their personal opinions and present them as facts.

All of this is given to us by design purposely to whip the country into frenzy so we will pay attention. That part of the equation has been accomplished.  With so many people talking about this, now the politicians are getting involved.

President Obama, members of Congress as well as members of other bodies of government at the local, state and federal level are giving their two cents worth.  Most of them are making fools of themselves, the only exception being President Obama. Whether you like him or not, he is the leader of this country and when an issue grips the whole of the country as this story has, he has every right to, and should say something. I watched his comments and in my opinion, he was not politicizing the story, he was merely being empathetic. But with the rest of the politicians and public figures, it appears candor, rule of law and just plain common sense have left the building.

The Justice Department is now involved. From what I have read, Justice is performing its own investigation of the case. Why? It’s a local issue, at most a state issue. Why is the Fed involved? I don’t get it. But you can bet it’s for somebody’s political gain. Who’s? At this point we don’t know.

I saw a statistic today that reported 76% of the population believed that George Zimmerman should be arrested and charged with murder.  With the media reporting the story in the way that it has, could you expect anything different? I don’t think so.

Going forward, you are going to hear the media and various leaders report about things we can learn from this tragedy, most of them useless lessons. I think there’s only one thing we can learn from this; The media should act more responsibly. Under our law, Zimmerman is innocent until proven guilty.

George Zimmerman

George Zimmerman (Photo credit: DonkeyHotey)

Regardless of what the facts have shown or not shown, the media has painted a picture of George Zimmerman that will do irrevocable harm to him and his family. They have placed him on trial in the court of public opinion and offered distorted evidence to prove their case. They did the same thing in the way they portrayed Martin except they painted him as the “All American Kid”. Was he? I don’t know. Was Zimmerman the gun happy aggressive “wanna be cop” we have been lead to believe? Again, I don’t know. The one thing I do know is that certain people and the media have used this tragedy for their own gain. Whether Zimmerman is guilty of murder, or he’s a victim who fought back really doesn’t matter to any of the media or any of the countless others who seem to have a voice it this. In the end, all they care about is the fact you’re tuned in and listening.

Discussion

39 thoughts on “An Overlooked Fact in the Travon Martin Case!!

  1. Here, we go again. I honestly think that some people cannot pass reading comprehension. Everyone keeps saying”wait until the facts come out”. Can you not hear the tapes and the witnesses that state what they saw, can you not see the videos. Even Sanford police was gonna close the case because of their inherent neglect. Do you not know that Sanford police have a history of this practice and had issues as a result that they had to deal with. Any murderer will go into protection mode to save there own skin. “Hello” excuse me this Zimmerman guy is a hothead he has a history. I admitt black folk got issues with this black on black crime and we are working on this. White folks got issues with that lil meth problem that is spreading throughout the country, causing kids to robb pharmacist and kill there parents. But to kill a kid because he was acting suspicous. Do you not know that, this suspicous law gives any officer the right to stop and frisk any suspected perpetrator. Guess who they stop and frisk on a regular. Guess who gets shot unarmed on a regular. Whats the cop excuse “oops” I thought he had a gun. You never hear of some zealous black officer shooting a white unarmed kid, Why? This is something we are tired of. I know of several traffic stop situtations where cops are killing our black kids. But guess who is shooting at the white officers when they get stop, you guest it, predominantly white males shoot police officers. But yet the black kid gets shot because “oops” I thought he was going for somemthing.We are tired of our kids getting shot unarmed and the person who shot him never goes to trial. Put yourself in our shoes, If a segment of your population was constantly getting harrassed, pulled over and shot because they look suspicous. Would you not stop and reassess the situation. As far as Jackson and Sharpton these guys are civil right pioneers. Once people called Martin and outside agitator. Now we have civil freedoms for all to enjoy, hispanics, mexicans, haitians, chinese, women, etc because of his work. We don’t have a strong presence in the congress are the senate. These men are our tools for recourse. Would you want there jobs? I know I am the typical angry black man that always bring race into the picture. Hello again. I cannot forget the vivid pictures of my first day of school being greeted by the Klan, angry whites, dogs, firehoses, etc. Because the govt found that racial inequality in schools were unjust. I am scarred for life. Although we came out of , slavery and chains to the cotton and tobacco fields where we made whites rich we still survive. The problem for many is we want the same quality as whites and for some they cannot perceive that ,and will not stop at nothing to kill the black negroe race. What is amazing to me even immigrants come to this country with the disposition of hating blacks just because of what they heard someone say that we are lazy and all thiefs. I ask where were those immigrants when we were getting beat, bitten, and battered when we were marching so that they could come here as well and enjoy civil liberties. Not to long ago I served in the military where a young white boy did not want to sleep in the same barracks with the blacks, I never heard one black kid say, I’m not gonna sleep here because there is a honky next to me. I have black friends who are scared to hire blacks because they are afraid of what there supervisor might say. But the supervisor hires his whole white neighborhood. One last thing 2012, present day, last week a judge ordered in favor of the black firefighters 2000 black applicants applied and none were hired, they will recieve awards, because the city said that racism in hiring practices in NYC are still alive an well. What did the Mayor say. ” I think the people that help run this city are doing a great job”.

    Posted by Robert McDaniels | April 15, 2012, 2:49 am
  2. George Zimmerman is not white. People keep making these references to all these things, but not sure why. Sure it’s tragic, but to invole race doesn’t make sense. He racially profiled him blah blah blah…. He’s not white!!! You act as if mexicans and blacks or whatever race Zimmerman is, have had historic beef. Chill. As the blogger stated this happens around the country frequently.

    Posted by nick2485 | April 14, 2012, 10:15 pm
    • I guess his father is German and his mother was from Peru. He could have profiled him regardless of his race but my point is that the media is making this way bigger than it needs to be. there are killings and shootings everyday

      Posted by nick2485 | April 14, 2012, 10:24 pm
  3. This what the media is supposed to do. If you want to live in a rabbit hole where your thoughts are not disturbed by tragedy then don’t look at the news. Or watch fox…they love to hide the truth.

    Posted by minnaalegra | April 14, 2012, 5:11 pm
  4. The issue here is the Sanford police department. If they had taken the time to really get all the facts we would not be in this situation. It seems to be police don’t value black lives very much. If the situation was a black male doing the shooting he would have been in jail on something even if it was a trumped up charge. Just as we are profiled by hoodie we would have been guilty on spot because of race. That’s the way it is. This has at least been a good
    experience for me to speak to my son about african americans and the justice system and how they view him as a young black male. A possible serious threat on site! The media actually helped this time.

    Posted by mythang66 | April 14, 2012, 3:59 am
  5. There would have been no reason for self defence if Zimmerman just wold have fallowed the instructions of the 911 operator. He didn’t and now Trayvon is DEAD . AND THAT IS A FACT.

    Posted by Kia Jackson | April 13, 2012, 1:44 am
    • You are correct, he is dead and Zimmerman has been charged with a crime. Now we will have to wait to see what the trial reveals.

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 13, 2012, 2:15 am
  6. The facts that you wrote this piece and spend time responding to comments shows you are part of the media coverage. Maybe you didn’t realize, but what you did here is express your opinion and just like every Tom, Dick and Harry. Stop hating on the media; you are part of it and just looking for exposure like them.

    This is clearly an injustice and people want their government to take a second look at the facts. I don’t think that would have happened without media coverage. Like you mentioned in your article, this happens frequently, but that doesn’t make it right. Maybe, this coverage would stop this trend, and save more lives in the long run.

    Posted by jrekan | April 7, 2012, 3:11 am
  7. i believe that all men are innocent until proven guilty, but situations like this demands media attention, for the sake of mankind, we already live in a world with division so to allow something like this to go unnoticed is a tremendous tragedy , it shouldn’t matter the race, or the attire , a persons life has been lost, and to the people outside looking in , there seems to be no actions taken in the matter, mind you i have teenagers who dress in this same type of attire , and maybe, just maybe they could look suspicious walking down the street, should i fear this happening , and it being swept under the rug? this is a call for justice , and yes Mr. Zimmerman should get a day in court, but with all that’s, taking place do we even see this happening? this man has killed and yet he is still walking the streets. we ask for nothing but what is due JUSTICE!!!!!!

    Posted by Evangeline Isom | April 6, 2012, 12:21 pm
    • Thanks for the comment. I agree, there is a tremendous amount of racial division in our country. Mr. Martin’s race and attire should not be at issue, but in my opinion the media has made it one. In some cases, the media had blatantly skewed their reporting to make race an issue. Justice must be done, but until all of the facts are presented how can it be?

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 6, 2012, 4:28 pm
    • The REAL Travon Martin Tragedy:

      The responses to this article illustrate what the author discussed.

      It’s a tragedy that our media has become a tool to stir up hate between blacks and whites. What’s worse is that I KNOW THIS and I know you are reacting to what you have been manipulated into believing, but I cannot help my reactions to your reaction. I live in FL and have access to a few more facts – certainly not ALL the facts but enough so that I can understand why Zimmerman has not been arrested. I’m AWARE the media is manipulating the public.

      On one hand I can see that you may be a warm sweet honest smart caring individual, someone who could be my friend. On the other hand, I HATE YOUR STUPIDITY AND CLOSED MINDED RACIST ATTITUDE!

      I can’t help my feelings. I’m a cool rational individual who once belonged to the NAACP. I fought for civil rights in the 1960’s, but when bands of black hoodlums go on the warpath against “whitey”, beating up helpless victims in the name of “TRAVON”, I draw the line and that line separates the races.

      Now I wonder why so many people are so STUPID that they will automatically believe the worst and not take personal responsibility to investigate further instead of taking their neighbor’s word for something that sounds questionable at best.

      How hard can it be for you and others like you to THINK? Assuming you read a news article, ANY news article about this case, didn’t you read the age of the “victim”? Didn’t you see with your very own eyes the PHOTOGRAPHS of the two people involved in this incident? Shouldn’t the two photos alone have been enough for you to at least DOUBT any “information” in any news item that followed those photos?

      We were ALL shown obviously prejudicial misleading photos of the two individuals involved in this situation. Did you think the photo of a 10-year-old Travon properly represented the 17-year-old person who was shot? Did you think the MUG SHOT of Zimmerman was a current representation of who he is? Why didn’t you wonder about this most glaring misrepresentation? Why are there so many other ignorant hateful fools who did the same?

      The use of these two photos alone strongly state GUILTY OF MURDER!

      I don’t expect the general population to be rocket scientists, but I do expect SOME SORT OF RESPONSIBILITY and aversion to being misled by people with their own agendas who attempt to impose these on the public. Instead of common sense, I see an entire race of people who are all too ready to believe the worst of others based on the color of their skin. We now see blacks behaving just like the worst and most ignorant southern racists behaved in the early 1900’s when they lynched Negroes at the drop of a hat based on a whispered rumor.

      Do you doubt this? Imagine if one of the “Panther’s Posse” managed to find Zimmerman and brought him as a surprise to the rally where they announced a bounty on his head. Do you doubt he would have been strung up from the nearest tree and lynched? Do you believe anyone would have stopped this lynching?

      You may want to take an optimistic approach to this and see it as proof that we are all the same once our skin is stripped from our bodies. This is a nice thought but as I said, I’m a practical rational person. When I see blacks with hate in their eyes directed at me, I’m NOT going to force a guilty smile and pretend I understand. The fact is, I understand too well. I have NO GUILT as I NEVER saw color as an indication of anything other than color. I know I too have been manipulated, but my life and limb is more important to me than my ideals. I see a people that too easily believed the worst of me because of my skin color and I don’t like it. I don’t like them and I don’t forgive them for this. This means that while my head recognizes the manipulation we are all being put through to put us at each other’s throats, my first concern is with my own safety, ideals be damned.

      While I understand you on one level and I can see many of your positive characteristics, I now see you as a potential enemy, one whose motives I must suspect no matter how you may look or act at other times. I know there is a code word, a uniting force somewhere that when expertly used, will instantly flare up your hate and direct it at me because of the color of MY skin.

      You cannot help yourself any more than I can help myself.

      This is the REAL TRAVON MARTIN tragedy.

      Posted by jessix1 | April 7, 2012, 3:22 pm
    • All your response says to me, Ms. Isom, is that you’re the enemy of my race, my culture, and my country.

      Posted by jonolan | April 12, 2012, 4:05 pm
  8. Zimmerman should have still been arrested regardless of the situation even if he was white,purple, yellow green. Right is right and then they could have investigated the situation while they were holding him that is why there are investigators courts and jury. If he would have stayed in the car as he was told then a Travon would still be here and we would not be talking about none of this self defense stuff.

    Posted by Valerie Duffy | April 5, 2012, 10:42 pm
    • Thank you for the comment. From what I understand, Florida law allows a person to be held only for a period of 24 hours then an arrest must be made or they must let the person go. In this case, it seems that at the time the police did not feel there was enough evidence to make an arrest and released Zimmerman sooner. As the investigation continues, that may change and they may arrest him.

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 5, 2012, 11:29 pm
  9. Travon Martin’s murder is eating me inside. We as Americans should be ashamed of the way this murder is being handle. Zimmerman should be in jail until he is proven innocent because the fact is we all know that he killed Travon. This is just a COMPLETE INJUSTICE, regardless of the skin color this is flat out wrong. I hate the fact that we are still dealing with racism in 2012 because at the end of the day there is only one race and that is the Human Race. Black Americans cannot be that much more intimidating than any other American. Our fellow Americans should not be that scared and/or should not have that much hatred toward our culture. The Justice System is messed up and so is the American way of thinking. Something need to be done because this cannot happen again. Travon Martin should not be dead. They had JonBenét Ramsey and Nancy Holloway murder in the news for a very long time no one complained; everyone was heartbroken. Why do you feel like Travon Martin is not worthy of a national attention?

    Posted by Roszario Williams | April 4, 2012, 12:54 pm
    • Thanks for reading. I agree with a lot of what you say, but I think the way the media has distorted this story has led people to draw conclusions about what did or did not happen. I feel that we should withhold judgment of either party until all facts are accurately brought to light. Then we can draw conclusions based on fact instead of speculation.

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 6, 2012, 4:17 pm
    • Guilty until proven innocent? You must be joking… Our Constitution was created for a reason. Zimmerman should be investigated and have a fair trial, the same way every other citizen in our country would be granted.

      This is a murder investigation, at the end of the day. What happened is awful, but the media (and ignorant undividuals) are turning it into something it isn’t. We aren’t given all the facts and do not have true insight into what happened. Our judicial system is built on justice, not vigilantism – we have to let the system accomplish what it was created to do.

      Posted by Sarah L. | April 10, 2012, 9:23 pm
    • Ah yes, we should throw out the law because some got killed and keep Zimmerman in jail until he is proved innocent.

      Posted by jonolan | April 12, 2012, 4:07 pm
  10. @ Thomas Brian – Get your facts straight before you publish an article.

    “George Zimmerman claimed self defense and the police seemed to agree with him because he has neither been arrested nor charged with a crime.”

    In 2005, Zimmerman was arrested and charged with “resisting officer with violence” and “battery of law enforcement officer.” In the same year (2005), Zimmerman’s ex-fiance, Veronica Zuazo, filed a civil motion for a restraining order, alleging domestic violence.

    And for the record, the issue is not a “local issue”. The policing authority failed to do their job (These are just plain facts). If it were not for the media and the MASSES OF PEOPLE protesting and demanding justice, this whole situation would have been swept under the rug. The sad reality is that this type of thing happens all of the time, however the “Trayvon Martin” is just helping to expose this type of injustice.

    Check out the video below:

    If this happened to your innocent child who was simply walking back home I think you would be crying for justice also praying for more media exposure. Regardless of the motives of the politicians and media, justice needs to be served. On the other hand, thanks for writing on the issue, your helping give it more exposure…

    Posted by pastorjlee | April 4, 2012, 12:36 pm
    • Thank you for your comment. As of today, Zimmerman has not been charged, and that is a fact. I agree that justice must be served but I also realize that cannot happen until the investigation is complete and all of the facts have been brought to light.

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 4, 2012, 3:06 pm
      • Sorry, I misunderstood your original post. I though you were saying that Zimmerman had NEVER been arested. You have to agree that we wouldnt even be looking at an investigation had the media not given it any attention though. The whole situation is an unfortunate tragedy.

        Posted by pastorjlee | April 4, 2012, 3:15 pm
      • How can you not be frustrated by the REFUSAL of so many people to understand what you wrote?

        Let’s ASSUME for a minute that facts will TOTALLY ABSOLVE ZIMMERMAN.

        Assume Travon Martin was a good kid gone bad, a “gangsta” wanna-be. Assume the jewelry found in his book-bag was stolen goods. Assume he was part of a gang that periodically traveled from Miami to go “shopping on the North Shore”. Assume he was looking inside apartment windows to see which appeared vacant for possible future marks.

        Now assume it’s shown beyond any doubt, with witness statements, autopsy results, tapes, whatever, that Zimmerman was attacked by Travon and only his gun saved him from being killed.

        Do you think for one minute the black community will accept this?

        I do NOT!

        The willingness of Blacks to believe the obvious distortions and their refusal to accept new information that lessens the possibility of an injustice tells me blacks in America are at least as racist as whites may have been years ago. White racism was acknowledged. Black racism is DENIED!

        The preponderance of American blacks who have lined up behind Al Sharpton and the “New Black Panthers” who want to lynch Zimmerman indicate racism is alive and well in the good old USA, and it’s not the racism one would expect. The blacks of today are nothing like the Negroes of yesterday whose rights I fought for. Today’s blacks are a hateful bigoted group. They don’t want gays to have the same civil rights they finally won after years of fighting. They voted almost en masse to uphold Proposition 8 in CA, to the shock of many former civil rights workers. Our own president, the product of an interracial marriage that was illegal in many states a few decades ago, stated, (at a gay fundraiser), “I support civil rights for all people, but I don’t support gay marriage.”.

        Today’s black community REFUSES to accept new information that contradicts the case brought against Zimmerman by Sharpton and the media. WHY IS THIS? They continue to refer to 17-year-old Travon Martin, a 6’3″ football player, as an innocent 10-year-old child who was slaughtered by a racist. Some claim he was shot in the back!

        In my memory, I can’t recall a single instance of a 10-year-old black child being executed by a KKK racist, but this is something today’s blacks easily imagine happened. One would think they would jump at any new information to show this is not the case. Instead, such information increases their insistence on “Justice for Travon”!

        I’m embarrassed to have painted the entire black community with one brush. Previous friends would be shocked by my attitude but I don’t have these friends anymore. I lost the first one during the Harlem riots in the ’60’s. I lost the last one over this president a few years ago. What type of friends are so easily lost over situations that have nothing to do with you?

        I’m still surprised when I examine my own feelings, but not nearly as surprised as I am when I see normally intelligent individuals making up excuses for inexcusable behavior. There is nearly an entire race of people voting for a president based on the color of his skin. I can understand a little bit of the “familiarity” issue, but not in this case, with a man less black than I am and I’m lily white! No self-respecting black man would behave the way this president behaves, but blacks don’t seem to see this. There are numerous qualified blacks who could have been excellent presidents, and this one is not one of them, but he will get almost the total support of the black community. Based on WHAT? (In all fairness, there are also many whites who could have been excellent presidents, but we continue to get the worst of the bunch to vote for.)

        I see nothing good coming from this Travon Martin situation unless one considers an increased awareness of black racism a good thing.

        Posted by jessix1 | April 7, 2012, 4:25 pm
      • @jessix1 you say you cant In your memory, recall a single instance of a 10-year-old black child being executed by a KKK racist, but this is something today’s blacks easily imagine happened. How about 1963 bombings of the four african American girls at the church, not at age 10 but 11 and three fourteen year olds, all killed by a few members of the KKK.. As far as your remark that Today’s blacks are a hateful bigoted group, that just shows how hateful you are being. This statement is also untrue-. They don’t want gays to have the same civil rights they finally won after years of fighting. I’m black and support gay rights- plus you have alot of white christians who are against gay rights,

        Posted by lynette1981 | April 14, 2012, 1:06 am
      • Thank you for your comment and for reading.

        Posted by Thomas Brian | April 14, 2012, 2:03 am
  11. Thomas, I respect your opinion. One of the things I don’t understand is, those who are quick to defend Zimmerman, stating he is innocent until proven guilty. I agree. The problem is, why wasn’t Travon innocent until proven guilty? Why was a young black man in a hoodie considered suspicious, in his own neighborhood, or any neighborhood? To me, we cannot dismiss the fact that the boy was innocent. Why is race even mentioned? History and present. This is a prime example, the fact that there is even a “side” that does not see something wrong with a black kid, wearing a hoodie, as being suspicious! That alone is a problem. Getting to the 911 tape. If it comes out that Zimmerman really did call Travon a F!#$@# Coon, then the media will do it’s best to, like always put black against white. I don’t know what Zimmerman was thinking, if it was racially motivated, if he really felt his life was at risk. I don’t know what should be done. But I do know, that “nothing” is not the answer.

    Posted by chuckcndem | April 4, 2012, 12:24 pm
    • Thank you for your comment. You pose some excellent questions. Unfortunately, at this point the answers to those questions have not been presented. Until the investigation is complete, all we have is speculation and distorted facts presented by an overzealous media. I think that we as a people should withhold judgement of either party until all of the facts are brought to light.

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 4, 2012, 2:47 pm
    • “defend Zimmerman”? What does that mean? Is it a defense to say that a potential criminal should be subject to due process of law? Is it a defense to say “innocent until proven guilty”?

      Posted by pmw7070 | April 13, 2012, 3:02 pm
  12. I wish people would stop distorting the facts in this issue. Zimmerman is not white! If George Zimmerman is a “white” guy, then Barack Obama is the 44th white US President, instead of the first African American President!!

    Zimmerman didn’t call the cops, because Trayvon was black and wearing a hoodie … he called and said ” There’s this real suspicious ‘GUY’ … this ‘Guy’ looks like he is up to no good or on drugs or something … it’s raining and he’s just walking around looking about.” The dispatcher then asked, ” is he white, black or hispanic?” Zimmerman
    responds,” he looks black.”The dispatcher then asked,”Did you see what he was wearing?”and Zimmerman described to the dispatcher what he was wearing …and then says, ” he’s here now and he’s just staring … looking at all the houses … now he’s just staring at me … now he is coming towards me and he has his hand in his waistband.” Zimmerman also adds,” somethings wrong with him … he’s coming to check me out and he’s got something in his hands … I don’t know what his deal is.” Based on that 911 conversation there was not any racial profiling! There was none, so it will not be considered a hate crime due to the fact that Zimmerman did not pursue Trayvon based on his race … but because he looked suspicious and up to no good.

    Another fact!! … the 911 dispatcher did not tell Zimmerman to “STOP” following Trayvon. Zimmerman was already following him, when the dispatcher asked if he was following him and he said yeah. Then the dispatcher told him, ” We don’t ‘NEED’ you to do that.” and he stopped. Also believe it or not, Zimmerman was attacked by Trayvon … at least that’s what I believe the hidden message in the 911 call Zimmerman made indicates. In the call, Zimmerman was asked if he lived in the area and he said yeah. He was then asked for his apartment number, but was a little bit uncomfortable about giving it out, even though he did give his cell phone number. He was uncomfortable, because and I quote him from the 911 call,” It’s a home … it’s one, nine, five, zero … aw crap, I don’t won’t to give it all out … ‘I DON’T KNOW WHERE THIS KID IS’.” The dispatcher asked, Do you want to meet them(POLICE) where the mail boxes are at? Zimmerman say, ” yeah that’s just fine … can you have them call me and I’ll tell them where I’m at” and he was told yes. Everything said in that 911 phone call backs up every thing Zimmerman told the cops. Last fact … Zimmerman was arrested that night, but he was not charged and that is what this mess all comes down to … the media second guessing the police and the prosecutor.

    I wonder … why didn’t Trayvon just run to his dad’s place? If he wasn’t doing anything wrong, then why not just run home? It was that close by and got his dad involved or called the cops? Now I’m just speculating here(just as everyone in the media has done),but maybe … just maybe Trayvon had just smoked a blunt right before Zimmerman spotted him. It would explain why he was walking very slow in the rain … just looking around and why he didn’t run straight to his dads house and call the cops … because at his age I’d be damned if I would have done either of those things if I were high!. Just a thought!

    Posted by Joseph Curtis Gray | April 4, 2012, 8:41 am
  13. It’s Florida! That’s why all this is happening. They totally lost control of the Anthony saga, the Haleigh Cummings disappearance got out of control, too. Between Nancy Grace and Rivera trying to relive the OJ trial, that state is a mess.

    Not to mention all the military in that area and their need to to operate their “bounty hunting” programs because they can’t put together a real police dept. that serves the public and not just themselves.

    I can understand the kid acting suspiciously…especially if he thought he was being stalked or something.

    This stalking seems to be a common occurance. If I recall, George Anthony hid a gun in his tirewell.

    Posted by Thinker Belle | April 3, 2012, 11:28 pm
  14. Has any body ever thought that zimmermen is a state rat living in the witness protection program that’s why he has not been arrested. I saw this on criminal minds two young kids kidnaps their classmate and the dad kills both boys gets away with it cause he is in witness protection program and the feds needs his testimony that seems to be the case with Zimmerman also look what Jr did to Renee and her father on mob wives rats his way into the witness program yes George is a rat in witness protection

    Posted by Theodore Lang | April 3, 2012, 10:03 pm
  15. I for one am glad the media is involved. It is the responsibility of the media to be involved and without them I fear we would not have even heard about the tragedy in Sanford Florida. We have the Freedon of the Press which exists to inform, explain, confirm or discredit, and create news. People like Al Sharpton and others use the media to ths effect and no doubt for their own purposes. But are you suggesting their should be no media coverage? You reject discussion by the pundis because of what may be their motivation?

    I think every American citizen has the right to makeup its own mind, and become as informed as possible. Before Sharpton and the media got involved, this was all being swept under the rug. Now the light shines on every detail of the case as it emerges, Not from the Sanford Police Department, not from the State Special Prosecutor or the Justice Department. It is because of the media that ths was brought to light. Because of the media the majority of public opinion demands justice not just for Travon Martin but also for Geroge Zimmerman.

    This is America….so I say let the press sensationalize. In the end it will be the law, and only the law that will decide the facts based on their merit.

    Posted by Barry S. A. DeLong | April 3, 2012, 12:51 pm
  16. How can you possibly not understand why the country is in an uproar? This man, Zimmerman, was not arrested, that is the sole reason everyone is so upset right now. This man committed murder and almost got away with it. Most Americans have a great sense of wanting fairness and justice, this case is a classic case of injustice and unfairness to say the least. Travon was stalked, murdered and his killer was not arrested. We can’t let Zimmerman get away with murder just to continue living as normal after taking this young man’s life because he didn’t like his looks.

    Posted by Mary Walker | April 3, 2012, 2:45 am
    • Thank you for your comment, but I never said I didn’t understand why the country was in an uproar. I understand it completely. The media has irresponsibly reported this tragedy which has led to broad speculation of what happened. That speculation has created the controversy and circus that you see in the media as well as the rest of the country. The truth is, at this point no one outside of the investigation knows all of the events that happened, and until the investigation is complete neither do you or I. I believe that we as a people should reserve judgment until all of the facts have been presented.

      Posted by Thomas Brian | April 3, 2012, 3:42 am
    • Did you even read the article??? Seems you have fallen into the abyss of the media yourself. How do you know what happened? Were you there? If so, why did you not stop it? If not, why comment? Where did you hear he didn’t like his looks? I heard he didn’t like the way he was acting in this gated community. But what do I know, I heard the 911 audio clip edited by, yep, you guessed it, the MEDIA. You say we can’t let Zimmerman get away with murder. We don’t know it was murder and why is it there are molesters everyday who walk and there is less outcry over that… Put it in perspective. Would Jesse and Al be talking about this if Travon were to have been Mexican. How about the Black Panthers? Would they have a bounty if Zimmerman was black?

      Posted by jdaviddeck | April 3, 2012, 1:05 pm

Archives

Categories

March 2012
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

